New book, coming soon! Focus 2012: highlights of Australian short fiction.

We are delighted to announce a forthcoming ebook-only production conceptualised to showcase the best of Australia’s award-nominated short speculative fiction. The first of an annual series, the anthology collects an elite selection of work which has received acclaim via national and international Awards shortlisting. In creating this collection, we anticipate bringing international attention to the very best of Australian speculative fiction.

"Imagination" by Kathleen Jennings
“Imagination” by Kathleen Jennings

Focus 2012: highlights of Australian short fiction features work by…

Joanne Anderton

Thoraiya Dyer

Robert Hood

Kathleen Jennings

Margo Lanagan

Martin Livings

Jason Nahrung

Kaaron Warren

We anticipate release in early October 2013 at all good ebook retailers.

With thanks to Deborah Biancotti, for thinking out loud.

Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror reprints

We would like to congratulate all our authors whose works will appear in the 2012 Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror (from Ticonderoga Publications, July 2013). In particular, three stories first published by FableCroft will be reprinted! Well done to Thoraiya Dyer (“Sleeping Beauty” from Epilogue), Faith Mudge (“Oracle’s Tower” from To Spin a Darker Stair) and Tansy Rayner Roberts (“What Books Survive” from Epilogue). Lovely news!

Speaking of news, we’ve started a new page on this website called “FableCroft Books in Review“, where we link to online reviews of our books – check it out to see what reviewers have been saying about us!

Congratulations on Year’s Best inclusion!

FableCroft is delighted to see two stories from last year’s After the Rain included in the Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2011 anthology. Congratulations to Jo Langdon (“Heaven”) and Lee Battersby (“Europe after the rain”) for being part of a very interesting lineup! See the full table of contents at Ticonderoga’s website.

Well done all!

Aussies in Dozois’ Year’s Best SF

Congratulations to the many Aussie authors and publications scattered throughout the Honorable Mentions in the new Year’s Best Science Fiction (#28, edited by Gardner Dozois). Apologies if I missed anyone!

Peter M Ball

KJ Bishop

Jenny Blackford

Damien Broderick (also in the ToC!)

Isobelle Carmody

Elizabeth Carroll

Aidan Doyle

Sean McMullen

Garth Nix

Simon Petrie

Sean Williams